Look Fantastic Beauty Box: May 2015

Standard

image

The thing I love about this Beauty Box is the fact that it ships at the beginning of the month so I don’t have to wait so long for it as my subscription boxes! There is always a really varied selection of products in it as well so you could never say that it is predictable! This month’s box contained a mixture of products that I usually use and welcome new samples of, and things that I have never really been all that interested in but in the interests of providing an informed review for the blog I have set about trying each of them out anyway!

First up, the Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm:

image

I was immediately struck by how lovely the little pot was (I know looks don’t count for everything but if a product looks pretty on your dressing table that’s a bonus!). Next I was impressed by the box’s claims that the balm enables the absorption of minerals from the healing waters of Budapest by the epidermis for firmer, suppler and younger-looking skin. Sounds good to me! I have never heard of the brand before, in fact I don’t know of any skincare products from Budapest so it was a great opportunity to try something completely new. I have since discovered that the brand is much sought after and respected so I am even happier with the balm’s inclusion in the box. When I opened the pot I was surprised to see that the balm had a really thick texture, so much so that I really had to dig the tip of my finger in to get a decent amount of the product out to smooth onto my face. This consistency does mean that I am sure to get a good few uses out of this sample pot though! As I applied the dark grey balm I got a fresh, earthy aroma. I can only imagine that the mineral filled healing waters of Budapest look pretty murky! I used my Konjac Sponge to ensure that all of this goodness was rubbed deep into my skin, then rinsed. My skin certainly felt soft and smooth after applying this balm but at £46 for a 50ml pot I would really have to fall in love with it in order to purchase the full sized version and I just didn’t feel strongly enough.

Next up I tried out the Erno Laszlo Night Serum:

image

I have mentioned before that I have begun to take extra care of my skin since turning 30 so night cream certainly does feature in my skincare routine these days. The problem is that I have already found a couple of products that I adore for this purpose, so anything new would really have to blow me away to take the place of them. This is such a small sample and although it does say in the instructions that you only need to use a small amount, I don’t think it’d last me long enough to get a good enough picture of what it could do for me. Plus, price comes into the equation again here too; this serum costs an eye watering £161.25 on Look Fantastic’s website! While I love the fact that I am getting the opportunity to try luxury brands like this, I can’t realistically expect to be able to afford to treat myself to the full sized version.

Moving on to the Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Or; Multi-Purpose Dry Oil for Face, Body and Hair:

image

I LOVE Nuxe products! In fact, their Nuxellence Detox Anti-Ageing Night Cream is the product that I currently use , so I was excited to try out another of their products. The golden shimmer in the product looks a bit off putting in the bottle but once you apply it to your skin it is quite subtle. This would look lovely slathered on your limbs when you have caught a bit of sun to give you a lovely glow. I also like the idea of using it on my hair  since it promises that your locks will become supple, glossy and full of volume. This seems like a great multipurpose product which is a nice way to pep up tired looking skin by providing much needed moisture and sheen. It isn’t horrendously expensive either (£21 for a 50ml bottle). You could also add this product to your regular body lotion or moisturiser for a glowing look which helps the bottle stretch even further. I will definitely consider purchasing this one. If you like the idea of the multi-purpose oil but the shimmer doesn’t float your boat, the regular dry oil is also available for £17 for 50ml.

Next up, the Christophe Robin Regenerating Hair Mask:

image

Although I am not a hair product obsessive, I’m a sucker for the occasional intensive treatment whether it be for my face, body or hair so I didn’t mind giving this one a try. I have actually received quite a few hair masks in beauty boxes lately and in spite of the initial disappointment that I always feel when I realise they are hair masks and not face masks, I enjoy using them. This is the full sized 50ml pot which retails for £10 so it definitely adds to my satisfaction about the value for money of this month’s box. You simply apply the product after shampooing, lather, leave for 2-3 minutes then rinse so its not time consuming and it leaves your hair feeling really silky and smooth. A great product to use a couple of times a week, particularly if you use a lot of product on your hair or it is heat damaged from straighteners etc.

Also included in the box is a full sized tube of Tanworx by Monu Self Tanning Lotion:

image

I am not a huge fake tan devotee. I simply find things like that too much hassle. That being said though, when the warm weather comes and I want to rock my denim boy shorts or a girly dress I don’t want to be worrying about the state of my pasty legs so I am glad to have a product like this in my arsenal. It provides an instant, natural looking tan and the colour intensifies over a period of 3 hours. It is recommended that you use a tan mitt to apply and although this isn’t included they can be picked up relatively cheaply from places like Superdrug and Boots. I have one already from another tanning same that I received so I am all set once the sun decides to make an appearance again! As with any tanning product, exfoliating any dry skin and moisturising beforehand is crucial but otherwise this lotion seems like it will be pretty hassle free to apply. Even for a novice like me! Monu is a respected skincare brand so I feel safe in their hands.

The final item in this month’s box is a set of Eylure Pre-Glued Lashes:

image

I have to admit I have never experimented with false lashes before. Yet another product that is too much hassle for a lazy person like me! I don’t like the ‘fake’ look and when you can get an amazing effect using just mascara these days I don’t really see the point. If I were to experiment though, (and I will for the sake of making use of every item in the box!) I would definitely choose a product like this. Eylure is a tried and trusted lash brand and the natural look and self adhesive strips on these ones make them seem like they’ll be pretty painless to apply.

So that’s the round up of the products included in Look Fantastic’s May Beauty Box. You can get yours now for the one-off price of £15.00 (plus free delivery) at http://lookfantastic.com

Leave a Reply

