Latest in Beauty: Heart Beauty Essentials Box

Standard

image

I love the Latest in Beauty site for great one-off boxes and this collaboration with Heart FM is their latest. It is jam packed with Make Up, Beauty and Skincare picks from a wide range of well known brands and is great value at just £15.00. Take a look at the contents then if you fancy a box for yourself visit http://latestinbeauty.com. Alternatively if you like the look of any of the individual products feel free to make use of the discounts that I have detailed below when purchasing for yourselves!

The first product that I was dying to try out was the Nails Inc Gel Effect Nail Polish in ‘Hyde Park Place’:

image

This is a gorgeously on-trend Grey polish which really does give a professional looking gel effect at home. As you can see it goes on evenly and looks really glossy. My only quibble with this polish is the fact that I wore it to a spa day at the weekend and I ended up with a few chips so I’ll definitely be using a top coat next time.

For 15% off all purchases at http://nailsinc.com use the code HEART15 at the checkout!

Next up I tried the Philosophy Purity Made Simple 3 in 1 Cleanser for Face and Eyes:

image

I have heard good things about the Philosophy brand and am always happy to try out new cleansers so I was pleased to see this in the box. It is suitable for all skin types and did a good job of removing my light everyday make up. My skin felt soft afterwards and not at all tight, which is an effect that I sometimes get with harsher cleansers. Its a decent price too at £8.00 for 90ml so I would consider buying the full sized version though at the moment I am happy flitting between my samples and my default Hot Cloth Cleanser routine.

For £5 off the 240ml or 480ml bottle at http://boots.com enter the code PURITYSAVE5 at the checkout.

I followed up my cleanse with the Vichy Idéalia Life Serum:

image

I have tried a few Vichy products before (including this one!) and quite liked them. I have also tried quite a few products similar to this one lately but none of them have wowed me enough to stray from my regular products and make a purchase. This serum is suitable for all skin types and claims to help improve the appearance of skin quality effected by factors such as pollution, overexposure to the sun and an unbalanced diet. While I am all for wonder cream to disguise the effects of my all too regular pizza and red wine binges, this serum hasn’t managed to prove itself to me yet. The tiny 3ml tube just about provided enough product for 2 applications and that just wasn’t enough time to see if it could change my life longterm. I’m not prepared to fork out £31.00 to see if the full sized bottle will either unfortunately!

Next up is the Kneipp Herbal Bath Back Comfort Oil:

image

It was great to see something a bit different in the box, especially since it would be useful to so many people. Who hasn’t suffered from the odd back twinge on occasion? I decided to try the oil out after the hangover proceeding my friend’s recent Hen ‘Do left me feeling generally run down and achy all over. After adding roughly half the bottle to the running hot water in my bath (the bottle states that it is for 1-2 full baths) I lay down and relaxed for the recommended 20 minutes. The oil has quite a potent scent and you can really feel a heating sensation as it works on soothing and releasing tension. I felt much better afterwards and used the remainder of the bottle after a particularly tough day at work when a lot of heavy lifting had left me with tension in my neck and slight lower back pain. The RRP for this oil is £9.95 for 100ml which would do for around 10 uses. I found it to be really effective and I will definitely be making a purchase.

Next I gave the Balance Me Radiance Face Mask a try:

image

I have tried many Balance Me products and have loved them all. I’ve actually used this mask previously having received a sample with a magazine a while back and it is great to give your skin a bit of a pick me up if it is looking a bit dull halfway through the week. It’s aim is to cleanse, exfoliate and brighten skin and it manages to deliver. Use once or twice a week followed by a good moisturiser and you’ll feel revitalised and refreshed.

For £5 off your next order at http://balanceme.co.uk enter the code HEARTFM5 at the checkout.

Also in the box was a full sized Amie Morning Light Hydrating Daily Moisturiser:

image

This is an inexpensive but effective facial moisturiser which is dermatologically tested, pH-balanced, free from parabens and chemical nasties and suitable for vegetarians and vegans so if you like your skincare all natural this is a good investment. The whole Amie Skincare range looks great and I will certainly be making use of this, as well as purchasing one or two of the other products. Check them out at http://amieskincare.com.

You can receive 30% off your order by entering HEART30 at the checkout. There is also free p&p on orders over £10!

Up next is the Dove Youthful Vitality Shampoo and Conditioner:

image

I received this duo in another box a few months ago and my mom was the recipient of the handy travel sized bottles so she could take them on holiday with her. I thought I’d try them out for myself this time. Although they are formulated primarily for ageing hair, the promise of soft and shiny hair with visible fullness is also appealing to someone with fine, flyaway locks like myself and I did find them to be effective in adding a bit of oomph. Dove is a well known and respected haircare brand and their products are widely available so these products might appeal to you, particularly if you spot them on offer in the supermarket or Chemist next time you are browsing! I’ll be keeping hold of the remainder of these samples for my next short break. I love my space saving products!

The Le Couvent des Minimes Cloisters Hand Cream is up next:

image

I’m a bit indifferent towards hand cream to be honest. It’s certainly an essential, i’m just not particularly fussed what brand it is. This one does have a lovely Rose and Berries scent though and is a bargain at £3.00 so if you are in the market for a new hand cream I would recommend it!

Get 20% off your first order at http://lecouventdesminimes.co.uk by entering HEART at the checkout. Spend over £20 for free p&p.

Another product that I was particularly pleased to see was the Green People Sun Lotion:

image

Obviously, Sun Protection is a complete essential but it can often clog up your pores and leave you with a greasy sheen. Green People is an organic brand and its natural ingredients are kind to your skin. This lotion has a 15 SPF so is great for everyday use or if you get caught out by unexpectedly warm and sunny weather whilst out and about! You can pop this 20ml tube into most handbags so you are always prepared!

For 20% off all products on http://greenpeople.co.uk enter HEART at the checkout.

Nearing the end of the box now! Next is the Wild About Beauty Powder Eye shadow:

image

I already own one of these eye shadows though thankfully in a different colour. This one is the beautiful ‘Heather’. It is highly pigmented, glides on easily and is long lasting. Wild About Beauty is another brand whose products are free from chemicals and aren’t tested on animals so that is another major plus.

Check out the full product range for yourself at http://wildaboutbeauty.com

Two bareMinerals Complexion Rescue samples were also included:

image

I have actually been coveting this product so I was thrilled to get the chance to try it out! Both of the shades supplied look to be on the fairer end of the spectrum but they worked well for my skin tone. I love lightweight, multitasking make up and its great to know that you have a product that is actually doing your skin good at the same time as providing a healthy looking glow. I am definitely considering purchasing this product when I have a bit of money spare and if you have purchased this box yourself you can take the leaflet inside with you to your nearest bareMinerals stockist to receive a deluxe sample in your perfect shade to make absolutely sure that the product is tailored to you completely.

The last couple of items in the box are the Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gels and the cute heart shaped Face Cloth:

image

As with Face Masks, soothing eye products are great every once in a while when you are feeling particularly ‘blah’ and want to give yourself a bit of extra pampering. I used these gels pads whilst relaxing in my Herbal Bath and in 10 minutes I really did feel revived. They help to reduce puffiness and even the appearance of wrinkles so they would be great before a night out or equally good the morning after!

The face cloth is just your bog standard face cloth with the added gimmick of being initially packed into a heart shape so it can magically expand when placed in water. It made me laugh since it is the kind of thing that I genuinely found quite impressive as a child and an extra face cloth is always handy!

Well that’s everything folks. As I said it really is a jam packed box and even though the majority of products inside are sample sizes it still represents great value for money. I could take or leave a couple of the products but I did find some gems amongst them too and the main draw with this and indeed all Beauty Boxes is the ‘Try Before You Buy’ element!

Leave a Reply

