Look Fantastic Beauty Box: June 2015

Standard

image

This month’s Look Fantastic box brought a major feeling of déjà vu. I knew that I had received the Balance Me Hand and Body Wash before but I was hoping that it was from one of my other subscriptions. Sadly no, I did indeed receive the very same product just two months ago in my April Look Fantastic box! Upon closer inspection of the information card supplied within the box I discovered that this was one of a few options that could’ve been included so it was bad luck that this is the one that I received, but it is obvious from the review comments on the website that many customers were in the same boat. I think it is a bit lazy of the company to churn out the same product again so soon. Could they not have used another product by the brand at least?
Anyway, rant over, let’s get on to the contents of the box. I will start with a brief few words about the Balance Me Hand and Body Wash in case you weren’t a visitor to my blog two months ago!

image

Don’t get me wrong, Balance Me is a great brand and is a regular feature in many of my Beauty Boxes. This product is great, especially since it is a generous 100ml full sized tube. It has a lovely citrus scent, foams well and is kind to the skin. Balance Me use predominantly natural ingredients too and their products are cruelty free. Win.

image

Next up is the Nuxe Crème Prodigieuse Anti-Fatigue Moisturizing Cream. First things first, I love Nuxe so I was expecting great things from this moisturiser. It is formulated for normal to combination skin but it didn’t cause my often sensitive skin any problems. It is quite a luxurious cream yet it absorbs well into the skin without leaving any greasy residue and it has a pleasant fragrance. All in all I was pretty impressed but I am not really in the market for a new moisturiser at the moment so I won’t be rushing to purchase it just yet. Let’s say I’ll keep it in mind for when I am!

image

I have used a few products by Caudalie before, including this Complexion Correcting Radiance Serum. I applied before moisturiser as instructed and it did appear to give my tired looking skin a bit more life. My main problem is that I’m not really sold on the use of any serum as an essential part of my skincare regime so I just can’t bring myself to spend £45 on one.

image

I was pleased to see this REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask sample since I have seen the product around and was interested in trying it. I do love a good face mask to refresh my skin at the end of the week! The problem was, when I read the instructions on the back of the tube they stated that it wasn’t suitable for sensitive skin and as someone who has experienced quite a few annoying flare ups from skincare which didn’t agree with me, I decided it just wasn’t worth the risk. I will be passing this one on to my mom to try!

image

As someone with fair skin and naturally fair hair, the sun is not exactly my best friend and I am prone to sunburn and sun stroke unless I am really careful. It goes without saying that I use protection on my skin when out in the sun but I’ve got to admit that I don’t always take as much care with my hair. Amongst other things, this Label. M Protein Spray provides your hair with UV Protection. It also provides protection from the heat of styling products and can help to detangle your hair post-shower, leaving it more manageable. Its really quick and easy to spritz a bit of this spray onto damp hair before styling as normal and I will definitely be adding it to my routine for it’s protective benefits. The generous 50ml sample should last me a while but when I am ready to restock, £13.25 for 250ml on http://lookfantastic.com seems reasonable to me.

image

The final product in this month’s box is the Murad Rapid Collagen Infusion. I was intrigued by the promise of a reduction in the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles in 2 hours. Since I turned 30 I have certainly thought about the ageing process a bit more and started seeking out various anti-ageing skincare and make up products but I am still in the preventative phase at the moment since I am lucky that I don’t have that many wrinkles yet. Still, I gave this a go and it really did have a plumping effects, making my laughter lines and the creases on my forehead seem less pronounced. The full sized product isn’t cheap though at £65 for 30ml and in light of the fact that my slight lines and wrinkles can be disguised quite effectively with my minimal everyday make up I don’t feel the need to invest just yet. I will stick with the preventative creams for now.

Overall I did feel a bit let down by this month’s box. In spite of the fact that I welcome trying new skincare products and brands, I don’t get the same thrill seeing those as I do make up items, and sadly this box contained none. I was also disappointed with the fact that the REN mask was unsuitable for my skin type and by the duplicate Balance Me body wash. I did love the Label. M and Nuxe samples though so there’s a silver lining somewhere!

The Look Fantastic Beauty Box can be purchased at the beginning of each month as a one-off purchase costing £15 with free delivery. You can also choose to take out a 3 month plan for £35, saving yourself £10. For more details or to get your box, check out http://lookfantastic.com

Leave a Reply

