Birchbox: June 2015

Standard

image

This month Birchbox subscribers were allowed to choose from 3 beautiful box designs from a collaboration with shoe brand French Sole. I chose this chic striped design and was delighted when it arrived. French Sole have also thrown in a handy shoe bag to match the box which is a lovely touch and handy for safe storage of that special pair of shoes either at home or while travelling.
Read on for the contents of June’s box…

image

First up is a full sized Gorgeous Cow Blissful Body Lotion from Cowshed. I have received a Cowshed body lotion in one of my previous boxes so I was pleased to see that I had received a different one this time. It has a lovely floral scent and the lotion absorbs easily into the skin without any stickiness so it is perfect to slather on if you’re in a hurry. It leaves skin feeling soft and moisturised. Love it.

Next up, Pixi Shea Butter Lip Balm in ‘Ripe Raspberry’:

image

Lip Balms is a handbag essential and a tinted one is especially nice to have to hand if you want to keep your lips in tip top condition whilst providing a flush of colour. This pretty pink shade is perfect for daytime wear, particularly at work where you may want to keep your look subtle but still brighten your face with a bit of colour. The formula of the balm feels really nourishing and if you build up the colour you can actually get quite a bold result if you want it. Another winner for me!

Next up is Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Spray:

image

I have received quite a few similar products lately and whilst they don’t immediately excite me, having tried them I can certainly see their good points. My damp hair is not particularly troublesome but I know many people struggle with tangled hair after a shower so the detangling properties of the spray would be beneficial! In addition to this the spray provides heat protection from your hairdryer and straighteners, minimises frizz and adds shine. It also has a gorgeous scent! I was impressed with this product and I will be using this as well as the Label. M Protein Spray which I received in this month’s Look Fantastic box. Now I have both it will be a while until I need to purchase another!

image

The REN Keep Young and Beautiful Instant Firming Beauty Shot is another exciting addition. I haven’t actually tried it yet because I am saving it for a special occasion but if REN’s reputation is anything to go by I am expecting great things! The idea is to apply before moisturiser for an instant firming and plumping effect, which can be replicated throughout the day by adding more of the product over your make up if needed.

image

The final two products from the box are a Penhalgon’s Iris Prima Eau De Parfum sample and a sheet of STYLondon Temporary Tattoos. When I first sprayed the perfume I was convinced that the scent was too heavy for me but over time it mellowed and was really quite lovely. I can’t allow myself to like it too much knowing the price of Penhalgon fragrances though! I haven’t tried the tattoos yet because despite them being everywhere at the moment (including in a number of my other boxes!) I really don’t think they are for me. They would make a fun festival or holiday look though and I do like the idea of using them on my nails instead of my skin as I have seen some do on Instagram so I may try that at some point.

When I first opened this box I wasn’t overly impressed but by the time I had tried everything out for the post I was won over. I love the Cowshed lotion, The Pixi tinted balm and the Beauty Protection spray so my subscription money was well spent this month!

Subscribe to Birchbox for £12.95 a month. For more information visit http://birchbox.co.uk

Leave a Reply

