Latest in Beauty: Capital FM Best of Summer Box

Standard

image

Latest in Beauty have done it again! I received this fab box a couple of weeks ago but I chose to prioritise my monthly subscription reviews over this one since it is still available for you to buy now if you like the look of it! It contains a great mix of the quirky and essential to keep you looking your best over the summer, whether you have an exotic holiday planned or are off to a festival. As always with the Latest in Beauty boxes, this one, compiled by Capital FM offers tremendous value for money and gives you the opportunity to try out some familiar brands as well as others that you might not have come across before. Here’s a closer look at the contents:

Carmex Moisture Plus Lip Balm in ‘Berry’

image

I haven’t opened the packaging on this lip balm because I already own one and I want to save this. This also means that I have enough experience with the product to give you an honest review. It’s a great size for popping into your handbag to keep your lips moisturised throughout the day whilst also providing a sheer red tint to add a bit of interest without looking too OTT. It is a really flattering shade and the lip balm itself gives your lips a slight tingling feeling that you will already be familiar with if you have used any other Carmex lip balms. I love this and it’s always in the handbag that I take to work so I can slick some on whenever my lips start to feel a bit dry.

COLAB Sheer & Invisible Dry Shampoo Paris Floral Fragrance

image

A dry shampoo spray is an absolute festival must-have as well as being handy during a particularly hot and sweaty day to freshen up your hair in the evening if you don’t have time for a shower before heading out. The fragrance is quite pleasant although you can still detect an underlying hairspray-like smell. At £3.49 for a 200ml can this is a similar price to the best known dry shampoo brand Batiste, but i can definitely see advantages with the Colab spray. This one is billed as ‘invisible’ and you don’t get the chalky white look that you can sometimes get with the Batiste sprays if you accidentally spray them too close to your head. My hair was also easier to style afterwards. My main problem with the Batiste sprays is that they seem to produce a tremendous amount of static, and once you attempt to brush your hair it seems like you are brushing the product straight back out again.  I like to keep a can of dry shampoo in the house as a standby and since Colab and Batiste are both sold in Superdrug, I can definitely see myself reaching for the Colab next time I need to stock up.

Dr.Organic Organic Dead Sea Mineral Bio-Plasma Mud Mask

image

I have used this mask a couple of times since receiving the box and the main thing that struck me was the fact that it feels quite uncomfortable, almost painful while it is on your face. The first time I applied it I was tempted to take it off again before the 10 minutes were up because I was worried that I was having an adverse reaction to it but I kept it on in the end and after I had washed it off there were no side effects. I can’t say that I noticed a huge improvement in my skin afterwards but one of the mask’s properties in that it is oil-regulating, and I don’t really have a problem in this area anyway. I’d love to see some anti-ageing and rejuvenating effects though, so I will continue using this generous 100ml tube once a week as suggested to see if it has any lasting positive effects.

Fudge Urban Art Spray in ‘Violet Haze’

image

Another product clearly aimed at the festival goer, this coloured hair spray is not really my thing but I gamely gave it a try anyway. Even on my mid-brown hair the violet colour showed up quite well, so I would imagine it would look really striking if you were a blonde. In spite of the fact that I wouldn’t usually go for a product like this, I couldn’t help feeling a bit disappointed that I didn’t have lighter hair so it showed up better! It would definitely be a cute, hassle free summer look as you just spray in then wash out.

Hawaiian Tropic Satin Protection Ultra Radiance SPF 30

image

Hawaiian Tropic is a well known and trusted sun lotion brand which provides protection from both UVA and UVB rays. All of their sun products have a lovely, coconut smell and this lotion is absorbed easily into the skin without leaving any oily residue. The boxes contain either SPF 15 or SPF 30 variations and I was glad to receive the latter as I have fair skin and am prone to burning and sunstroke. This 100ml bottle complies with cabin baggage guidelines so it would be perfect to take on a short trip. Plus, the smell is just divine!

I Love…Perfectly Peachy Bath & Shower Crème

image

This was a lovely smelling, rich and luxurious feeling shower crème. I really liked it so I was quite disappointed that there was only a 10ml sachet included in the box. I love… supports CoppaFeel though, so I suppose they would appreciate you going out and buying the full sized product in order to support the breast cancer campaign! It is available exclusively at Boots stores and http://boots.com and costs just £2.99 for a 500ml bottle.

Malin & Goetz Cleanser, Moisturiser and Lip Balm Trio

image

I’ve got to admit that I haven’t tried these little miniatures out yet, simply because they are the perfect little set to take away on a short break and I have one coming up this weekend. I have looked at a few reviews of the individual products and they seem promising so I am looking forward to giving them a go.

MUA Mega Volume Mascara

image

I was a bit puzzled when I applied this to be honest. I just have no idea where the ‘mega volume’ description came from! The brush is quite large but it has small plastic bristles which don’t actually seem to coat with much product, therefore it takes at least two coats before you can even really tell that you’ve got mascara on! After building up a few coats though, it gave a  feathery lash effect which I did like. It is waterproof too which is a major plus point for the summer. All in all it is an OK mascara, just don’t buy it as a ‘mega volume’ product!

MUA Eyeshadow Pallet

image

This collection of bright eyeshadows is perfect for creating fun summer looks. There is a mixture of matte and shimmer shades and they have reasonably good pigmentation for a budget brand. I combined the gold and violet shades for a striking effect. The pallette is quite compact considering it contains 12 shadows, so it is reasonably portable if you want to take it away on a short break or day trip.

Nails Inc Gel Effect Polish in ‘Soho Place’

image

Apologies for the state of the paint job and of my thumb in this pic, its not the fault of the polish! Anyone who has read my blog lately will know that I have already received a couple of these Nails Inc polishes and I love them. This is a great greeny-blue shade which is perfect for the summer. I imagine that it will look great on toenails by the pool or at the beach! This is actually a very similar shade to the Essence gel polish that I received in my June Glossybox and the difference in quality between the two brands is definitely apparent. Nails Inc polishes are quite pricey but in my opinion they are worth the money. They have become one of my favourite brands lately.

Well that’s it for this jam-packed summer box. At just £17.95 it really is great value for money and through it I have discovered great new brands like Colab and I love… whose products I will be going on to purchase. I also have a good supply of make up, hair and skincare products to keep me looking my best throughout the rest of the summer!

For more information on this, and other one-off Latest in Beauty boxes, visit http://latestinbeauty.com

4 responses »

  1. Wow I didn’t realise they did a beauty box! Great post! Would be amazing if you could check out my latest post too xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

