Look Fantastic Beauty Box: July 2015

Standard

image

After failing to be wowed by the last couple of Look Fantastic Beauty Boxes, I was beginning to think that I had found a definite contender to ditch so I could try to curb my expensive Beauty Box habit…then I unwrapped these little treasures! With a great mix of face, body, hair and make up products there is sure to be something that appeals to everyone, with some new brands to explore alongside some more established ones. Here’s a closer look at the box contents:

Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Multi-Purpose Dry Oil for Face, Body and Hair

image

Regular blog readers will know two things about me. Firstly, I adore Nuxe products. Secondly, I received the gold shimmery version of this oil in the May Look Fantastic box and I loved it. I mentioned in that review that this standard oil version was also available and I would consider buying it as it is cheaper. Well I didn’t get round to buying it but now I won’t have to for a while! The oil is great for nourishing and softening the skin, so I plan to use this non-shimmery one on tough areas such as my elbows, as well as applying a layer to my face whenever my skin is feeling particularly tired, dry and stressed out.

Balance Me Pure Skin Face Wash

image

Balance Me is a regular brand on the Beauty Box circuit and that is fine by me. I have had the opportunity to try several great products from their range without ever having to buy any of them individually! This face wash is suitable for normal to combination skin. I usually err on the side of caution when trying new face products and go for ones for sensitive skin, but since Balance Me use 98% natural ingredients in their products and because I have tried other products from the brand before, I felt safe using this. It’s a no-nonsense, water based cleanser that is simply applied with your hands and removed with warm water so it is great for chucking in your wash bag for overnight trips or for using to quickly remove make up and grime when it’s late and all you want to do is get to bed. The sample is a generous 50ml size so it will last you quite a while too.

Monu Skincare Firming Fiji Facial Treatment Oil

image

This firming facial oil looked great and I was really excited to try it until I read the usage instructions and they said that it was unsuitable for nut allergy sufferers! I have used products containing nut derivatives before and been fine, but I have also suffered a reaction before so I am always wary. The fact that the product expressly advised against me using it was enough to convince me not to which is a shame. For those of you not cursed with a nut allergy though, this oil claims to be all you need to firm and tone tired or dehydrated skin, and is suitable for dry or sensitive skin types. Sounds great!

Kebelo Clarifying Shampoo

image

Now here’s a novel idea! This shampoo is billed as the ‘ultimate detox’ for your hair and should be used once or twice a month to deep cleanse, rejuvenate and revive your locks. I often think that my hair suffers from the fact that it is almost constantly up in a ponytail for work, only being let down to be quickly brushed then scraped back again! Every so often it’s nice to feel like I am giving it a little treat, which is why I am a fan of occasional hair masks. The idea of a shampoo which will work in a similar way to revive and restore tired hair is a new concept for me but one that I am excited to try! Unfortunately the shampoo advises that it may lift colour slightly and I am planning on dying my hair tonight, so I will be waiting a couple of weeks before I give it a go.

Trilogy Everything Balm

image

Coincidentally, I was actually considering purchasing a pot of this from Naturisimo when I was browsing the site a couple of weeks ago! This soft balm melts on contact with the skin and can be used anywhere on the face or body that needs a bit of a moisture boost. It is particularly good on chapped lips, dry, cracked heels and the rough skin on elbows. I have been using it on the dry patches on my knees to try and smooth them before attempting to apply some fake tan at the weekend and it is working like a dream! At £12.50 for a 45ml pot it’s great value if you are in the market for a multitasking product like this, but this 10ml pot should last me quite a while anyway.

Lord and Berry Nude Lip Liner

image

Make up products have been depressingly thin on the ground in some of my latest boxes so I practically jumped for joy when I saw this offering from a brand that I really like, Lord & Berry. I was in the market for a new lip liner and the fact that this is a nude shade means that it’ll work with a number of lipsticks from my collection. The pencil doesn’t drag and the formula is creamy and smooth. I used it alongside my Bourjois Rouge Velvet Lipstick in ‘Beau Brun’ and it complemented it perfectly, making the end result much neater and long lasting than it would be had I not used the liner.

Well that rounds off what was largely a very impressive offering from Look Fantastic. Just as I began to doubt them, they managed to reel me back in!

Look Fantastic Beauty Boxes are available at the beginning of each month and can be purchased as and when you want them, without the need to subscribe. They are £15.00 including P&P. Get yours at http://lookfantastic.com

One response »

Leave a Reply

