Birchbox ‘Birchbag’: July 2015

Standard

image

There’s nothing like some fresh new make up and skincare products to shake up your routine during the warmer months and with Birchbox’s latest offering they’ve gone one step further and even given their traditional box a revamp! July sees your samples displayed in a lovely bright ‘Birchbag’, perfect for toting around your holiday essentials. Overall I am quite happy with my samples this month, although I am envious of a couple of things that I have missed out on after looking at pics of other peoples’ bags on Instagram! Oh well, here’s a closer look at what I received:

Soigné Nail Lacquer in ‘Menthe’

image

I have been receiving a lot of nail polishes in my boxes lately, though most have been bright shades so I was pleased to see this dreamy pastel one in the bag. At first glance it looked blue but when applied it looks more of a duck egg bluey green. This may be the perfect shade to complement my dress at my friend’s Lake Garda wedding next month! The polish itself is easy to apply due to a quite large, quite flat brush, although you definitely need two coats to build up a decent colour and even coverage. It really is a pretty shade though!

Unani Aloe Vera Gel

image

Aloe Vera gel in it’s purest form is known for it’s soothing properties and while I suspect this is far from it’s purest form, there are still benefits of using products such as this one. Great as an after sun treatment to soothe and moisturise skin after a little too much UV exposure, it can also be used to alleviate the itching caused from eczema or as an after shave balm. I have a big tube of pure Aloe Vera Jelly which I use for these things so I don’t see myself needing this product as an essential part of my life, but the tube is much more portable so I will keep it around for when I go on my travels.

Benefit Cosmetics Dream Screen

image

Quite honestly I didn’t want to like this product as much as I did. Sun Protection is essential, especially on your face, and Benefit have come up with a lightweight but heavy duty sunscreen formula with SPF 45 that also manages to look and feel invisible on your skin! This means no waiting around for ages for your cream to sink in and no walking around with a greasy looking face for the sake of protecting your delicate skin from the sun’s harmful rays! Although the product is excellent, I have to pick and choose what I spend significant money on and where I can cut costs and in this case I don’t feel like I can justify £25 on a 45ml bottle of this stuff when the Eucerin cream that I received in the Glamour Summer Edit box was great and costs £10 less for 50ml.

POP Beauty Eyeshadow Trio in ‘Peach Parfait’

image

Summer is definitely a great time to experiment with a lighter make up look, particularly when your go-to smokey eye will more than likely end up halfway down your face if you attempt to stick with it whilst abroad! These three shades are perfect for creating a softer and more subtle look, whilst really opening up and brightening your eyes. They have a slight shimmer but are not too full on so they are great for both daytime and evening wear. The dinky little pallette is very portable too so you can sneak it in anywhere, even if you are short on space. All in all, a nice little product.

Indemne Eau de Genie Spritz

image

This spritz is intended to be used alongside your usual cleanser to give it an extra boost and leave your skin clean, soft and glowing. A facial spritz certainly helps to leave your skin feeling soothed and refreshed, although if you are using a good cleanser and moisturiser anyway, I’m not completely sold on the fact that you would need this product as well. It is suitable for all skin types and I always welcome the opportunity to try things that I wouldn’t usually, but on this occasion it hasn’t really left a lasting impression on me and I won’t be rushing out to spend £11.20 on the full sized product!

Spa to You Nail Buffer

image

Here is where my bag envy comes in, having seen countless pictures of people displaying the beauty sponges that they received in place of this nail buffer. Don’t get me wrong, these are useful little things, but so much so doesn’t everyone already own one? They can be picked up in just about any budget chemist for a couple of pounds so it just didn’t feel very special to me. I have been wanting to try out a beauty sponge for applying my make up for some time but I wasn’t sure that I wanted to splash out on an original Beauty Blender so receiving an alternative in my bag would’ve been great. Oh well I’ll just have to keep an eye out for a cheaper alternative to purchase myself!

So there you have it, my July ‘Birchbag’. I love both make up products and the bag itself and I welcomed the opportunity to try the Benefit Dream Screen so all in all I’m still a happy bunny! I am also excited that once I complete my reviews for this month’s offerings on the Birchbox site, I will have amassed points worth £20 to spend in the Birchbox shop! Maybe I could treat myself to the Dream Screen after all…

Birchbox is a monthly subscription service which costs £12.95 per month. For more information or to subscribe yourself visit http://birchbox.co.uk

Leave a Reply

