Birchbox: September 2015

Standard

image

Happy Birthday Birchbox! This month the beauty box subscription service celebrates it’s 5th Birthday and have marked the occasion by putting together a special box to treat subscribers to a taste of the best that America has to offer in hair, beauty and make up brands. I am reasonably happy with my samples overall so I am trying not to succumb to box envy once again when I see pics of other peoples’ box contents on social media! Here’s what I received in mine:

Bliss Lemon + Sage Body Butter

image

I have always had a healthy interest in Bliss products but have only got round to actually trying one or two for myself so I was pleased to see this body butter in my box. Nothing beats the feeling of freshly cleansed and moisturised limbs but I often skip the moisturising part due to lack of time. I made a conscious effort to slow down and give this body butter a try post-shower and i’m certainly glad that I did. Slathering on a generous layer of this gorgeous smelling lotion left even the driest patches on my body feeling noticeably softer and smoother.

Laqa & Co Cheeky Lip Pencil in ‘Humble Brag’

image

I’m rarely disappointed by the inclusion of a make up item in any of my boxes and this was no exception. This multitasking, easy to use pencil adds a flush of colour to both lips and cheeks. The shade is quite a bright pink and I was worried that it’d look a bit full on at first as I don’t usually go for such shades but once I got used to it I quite liked it. I own quite a few various lip pencils as they are great for adding a quick flash of colour when you are in a hurry or out and about but the formula rarely lasts very long so it constantly needs to be reapplied. If this isn’t really an issue for you then I would say that this is a good product, though I have tried others that are just as good and far cheaper (the rrp for this one is £17).

John Masters Organics Citrus Neroli Detangler

image

Regular readers will know that hair products are not one of my passions, but since I have such short, fine hair I am grateful for anything that will help to protect what little I have to work with! I often fret about the amount of hair that I lose in the shower due to knotting and tangling and here is a product that promises to tackle that problem. It is applied to wet, clean hair and can either be rinsed away after 1-3 minutes or used as a leave-in treatment. I chose to rinse it out since my hair can sometimes look greasy quite quickly and I didn’t want to risk that. The product smells divine and really helped to keep my hair tangle free.

Beauty Protector Beauty Wash

image

This exclusive-to-Birchbox brand has impressed me in the past with it’s Protect & Detangle Spray back in June, so I was interested to see if their body care was just as good. It has a rich, foaming texture and felt luxurious on the skin. The Birchbox leaflet also suggested adding a dollop to your bath, which I will definitely be trying next time!

Benefit the POREfessional: License to Blot

image

I have been eyeing up this product since Benefit launched it but the price was putting me off buying so I was thrilled to receive this mini so I could try it out and see if it justified a little splurge. I’m pleased to report that it does! I often suffer from an oily t-zone and this ingenious little stick instantly mattifies shine right before your eyes! It can be worn alone or to touch up your trouble zones over makeup. I’m in love!

The Birchbrush

image

This month’s beauty bonus is the ‘Birchbrush’, a cute ‘Tangle Teezer’ lookalike of Birchbox’s own design which works out knots, tames and smooths the hair’s surface. Its a nice useful addition to the box and although I already own two Tangle Teezers there’s no harm in having a brush for every room of the house, right?

Well that’s it for this month’s special Birthday Birchbox. I am pretty pleased with the box’s contents although they didn’t completely wow me when I first opened it up. As an added bonus, I participated in the Birchbox Bonanza promotion on the site and bagged myself an extra 100 points to spend on my next order from the Birchbox shop! License to Blot, i’m coming to get you!

Birchbox is a monthly Beauty Box subscription service costing £12.95 per month. For more information or to subscribe visit http://birchbox.co.uk

Leave a comment